fbpx

Public Hearings on Electoral Reform Summer 2022

 The Yukon’s Special Committee on Electoral Reform held hearings with experts in the winter and spring of 2022.

In the summer of 2022, they held public hearings in communities across the Yukon. In the fall, they will make a recommendation to the Yukon legislature.

If you want a fairer voting system, please attend a public hearing – they need to hear from you!  A list of times/dates/locations is below. If you would like to make a written submission to the committee, the deadline is September 30. Send your submission to: SCER@yukon.ca  

Dates, times and locations of public hearings

Whitehorse
Monday, May 30, 2022
6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Yukonstruct
2180-2nd Avenue

Carmacks CANCELLED DUE TO WILDFIRES/FLOODS/LANDSLIDES – WILL BE RESCHEDULED
Monday, July 11, 2022
6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Recreation Complex
Gymnasium

Mayo – CANCELLED DUE TO WILDFIRES/FLOODS/LANDSLIDES – WILL BE RESCHEDULED
Wednesday, July 13, 2022
6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Mayo Recreation Centre
Curling Lounge

Haines Junction
Thursday, July 14, 2022
6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
DaKu Cultural Centre

Teslin
Tuesday, July 26, 2022
6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Teslin Recreation Complex

Watson Lake
Wednesday, July 27, 2022
6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Watson Lake Recreation Centre

Dawson City
Thursday, September 1, 2022
6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Community Hall

Whitehorse
Wednesday, September 7, 2022
6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Town Hall – 411 Main Street

Mayo
Tuesday, September 13, 2022
6pm – 8pm
Mayo Recreation Centre – Curling Lounge
310 6th Avenue, Mayo

Carmacks
Wednesday, September 14, 2022
6pm – 8pm
Carmacks Recreation Centre – Gymnasium
121 River Drive, Carmacks

Watch Fair Vote Yukon’s presentation to the Special Committee on Electoral Reform

In March 2022, Fair Vote Yukon presented to the Yukon Special Committee on Electoral Reform. Click the image to watch the video. Read Fair Vote Yukon’s submission here.